What would happen to your pets if you died?

31 Jul

Have you wondered what would happen to your pet if you passed away?  A tragedy on your part, I understand, but what of them?  Presuming you have taken care of your children if you have them and they are under age (through a will and discussions with peoples involved)…what about the dogs?

I laugh when super wealthy folks will their pets 10 million dollars, but I can sort of see their point.  I don’t know anyone that would really want my dogs (or be able to handle them) other than a short visit.  They would probably not be able to stay together (which they are used to)  Unless financially tended to and some provision made for them, they would go to the pound.  Their world would change forever. their content life of eating a certain food at a specific time, sleeping on the same spot, playing the same games and the loving pettings in each one’s specific favorite way would end.  You know they would mourn the changes and life they had.  They wouldn’t understand or know why it changes, just that is has. 

All the scent’s they are used to, the routines they count on, the pack they lovingly share  – perhaps that is a gap in the marketplace someone can open a business for.  BillyBob’s afterlife canine care…. Will us XXX.00 dollars and instructions…we will see that your dog’s care will continue as you wish – and they stay together (if more than one).  Loving environment guaranteed.  Billy Bob can hire loving retired people, kind-hearted teenager’s, and generally great pet loving people to help fill the gap in the pets lives.  Medical care for special needs dogs, exercise, play, and clean living space.  There can be attorney inspectors for  a person’s will wishes.  Maybe not 10 million dollars, but perhaps 20,000 dollars would allow a successful business and a great option for pets. Far fetched I know, but I just love my pups and I would be happy if they are provided for.  I wouldn’t burden anyone else, and someone could make a living.

I don’t know, clearly I am being a bit silly.  I just wonder from their perspective how hard it would be.  Yes they would adjust, I know.  We work hard at taking care of them in our own way, and we believe it is the best for our pets.  I guess it finds a way to work out most of the time.  I think I will look into being sure mine will be ok if an unforseen tragedy occurs.  Who knows maybe I will find a Billy Bob’s out there.

Leave a comment