post surgery cones

14 Nov

So is there anything funnier than the canine post surgical head cone?  That funny shaped plastic protection. 

I know it is necessary and it actually does protect the surgical site.  My dog’s eyelid had a procedure, so it is very important to protect the suture.  But…..I can’t help but giggle at the sight of that cone.

He bumps into everything.  He tips the water and food bowls over every time.  I am happy to clean it up without complaining.  (not big enough not to laugh).  He drags it on the ground while smelling things, looks like a vacuum hose when he is face down to the ground. 

He went outside and enjoyed the nice weather, sitting stoically on the ground…with the cone.  HAHAHAHA!! He was sooo cute. 

It does drive him nuts.  I can tell his frustration from hitting into the walls and stairs as he is walking around.  He bumps into everything, and it has to be tiring for him.  He is being good-natured and is just moving forward…so to speak.    I am happy his surgery went well.  I am glad he is healthy.  What a blessing!!  I can tell you that it is a bit funny, knowing that he is ok, so watch the cone of healing.

 

 

3 Responses to “post surgery cones”

  1. animaltranslation December 21, 2011 at 12:09 pm #

    What kind of dogs do you have? Loving the blog btw!

    Rachel

    • Friend to Dogs December 21, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

      Hi Thank you so much! I have a puggle, rhodesian ridgeback, shitzu, and a golden/chow mix. I love them all! How about you?

      • animaltranslation December 22, 2011 at 11:03 am #

        Plenty of variety then! Is the golden/chow mix the one in your picture? I have a bernese mountain dog and a hovawart- the hovawart has featured on my blog (post- ‘welcome’) but the bernese is still waiting for her guest appearance!

Leave a Reply

