Dog having surgery

11 Nov

Well, as it goes you can’t have 4 dogs without one of them needing some medical something or the other.  My dogs are young and healthy.  I have never been one to spend a lot on medications and treatments, but sometimes when it is necessary – it needs to be done.  I do the time left probabilities, quality of life potential vs cost ratio.  I hope I don’t have to use that formula on family members, because I have gotten good with the formula.  (just saying…)

So needless to say the puggle has a cyst on his eye lid.  It looks miserable.  He is young (4), otherwise healthy and this should be a quick surgery and repair.  No rehab, a little pain med and a funny plastic neck helmet for a few days – back to normal.  Now the doc wanted me to send the removed tissue to get lab worked for cancer.  On my family, of course I would do this.  I’m not so convinced it is a good idea with a dog. 

I have 2 family members that had dogs with cancer.  Both rather young.  One was aggressively treated the other just pain meds.  The out come was the same, except the non treated one went a bit sooner.  She was also discovered soooo late staged.  It is outrageously sad.  I can’t think about the potential loss of my dear canine companions.  It pains me to try to write this thought process out.  I have never had a human tell me that the treatment for cancer they have survived was a piece of cake.  That it was no big deal.  I understand that if you catch this early then odds are in your favor.  But at least humans have better meds, treatments, testing, and better insurance coverage.  Even with pet insurance – is it worth it?  Perhaps.

Its an uncomfortable concept, and one I don’t think I am faced with.  I lean against putting an animal that I love so dearly through the ringer.  I think in this case(when it is a pet), where something may be aggressive and painful, maybe making good memories and best remaining times is more compassionate.  Sometimes not knowing is better.  Perhaps just foolish. 

I hope he recovers without a hitch.  Cyst’s can grow back easily.  So I hope there is a good long term outcome for his eye.  Here is hoping for one of those routine deals that we forget about in a few weeks.

2 Responses to “Dog having surgery”

  1. Thomas Maffucci December 8, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

    Great post!

  2. Johnie Abdella December 8, 2011 at 11:38 pm #

    Love your blog!

Leave a Reply

