I love my dogs

8 Jan

Well, lets not hide the truth…. I LOVE DOGS!  They are the best in every category.  I am amazed at how much they improve my life.  I think it is so wonderful that God gave us dogs

I sometimes wonder if God gave us dogs to show us an example of unconditional love that is enduring.  This is an example of how HE loves us, only on a much smaller scale.  This relationship and that of parent/child are both tremendous examples.

I have 3 dogs.  They are great.  One is a pedigree and two are rescue’s.  I love them all.  It is funny how the pedigree knows he was obtained differently.  He didn’t ever go through a moment in his life at a pound, or overnight outside alone, or just plain lost.  He is a bit spoiled.  My 2 pound dogs however, they are grateful and happy souls.  They love being part of our family, and are always happy and close. 

I have two of the three off leashed trained, and I am very close to getting the third one completely trained.  Today was his first day off the leash for about an hour.  He had a rough moment when a neighbor walked by.  He ran up to him to say hello, and scared the poor guy.  He didn’t touch him though.  Phew.  I was able to get his attention and gain control of him.  He came every time I called him.  That was great.  I took him for a long walk, with a leash, and had the best walk with him ever.  He didn’t pull, yank, or drag.  He is a 60 pound chunk of muscle, so this is a big deal.  I am soooo happy that he is finally catching on.  I started working with him a year ago.  He is young and stubborn.  I have been afraid he was going to get hit by a car every time he got loose. 

Sometimes when I am at my computer, my dogs will get on the bed next to me and stare and smile at me.  It is fun to see them happy, and be able to express their contentment.  I am really Blessed to have them.  I will always have a dog.  I realized that I don’t trust people who don’t like dogs (except for someone who was injured or is allergic).   Cats are ok, and I understand why people like them.  I don’t like the smell of the litter box regardless of the type of box or litter.  I can always smell them. 

My dogs do not mess in the house, tear things up, break things, or anything destructive.  occasionally they will bark up a storm, but they are a pack and drive on each others energy.  I do follow the Cesar Milan concepts of pack leader and keeping the dogs calm and submissive.  They are much happier this way.  I have not , nor do I expect to, have any dog fights. 

I have not taken them to a dog park.  I think they would do ok, as long as the other dogs there at the time are well-balanced.  I wonder how that would go, I may be surprised. 

I recently went with my sister to put her dog of 15 years down.  He lived with me for many years and he was a great border collie.  He had epilepsy for many years, and over the last few days of his life he was in a constant seizure. This dog at his ideal healthy weight was about 20 pounds, but on this day he only weighed 10.  He was wasting, despite all attempts to have him gain weight.  It was the right thing to do for this dog, it was peaceful and painless.  He was such a good dog, and I will always remember him.  I know he meant so much to my sister and her son.  He was a sweet and loving little dog.  He was never over bearing, and knew to be gentle with everyone.  As a border collie when the kids were small he would herd them and keep them all together.  It was fun to watch.  He worried about others.  This sweet little dog really had a heart for caring.  He was also a fast and agile runner.  In his hey day  wow that dog could move.    I am sorry he is gone.  It is the painful side of having dogs, they don’t live near long enough.  The memories are priceless, and life with him has been so much richer, and precious. 

God Bless anyone who takes care of any creature.  Cats, dogs, birds, snakes, mice or what ever.  Animals are ours to care for and take care of, as well as enjoy.  I have no tolerance for anyone who abuses, harms, neglects, or rejects any animal.  I understand hunting, and conservation.  I appreciate that is part of our charge as well.  It provides balance. I am talking about abuse and harm for no reason. 

Well, enough of that.  It is clear I am biased towards canines.  They do it all.  They protect, interact, play, relate, give of themselves, entertain, work, and many other things.  They are versitile as well.  They visit the sick and elderly, they work, they search, they guard, and they love.  No other animal amongst us does all the different things a dog can.  What an incredible gift from God they are.

One Response to “I love my dogs”

  1. The Lincoln Lawyer February 6, 2011 at 3:36 am #

    Great blog! I truly love how it’s easy on my eyes and the details are well written. I am wondering how I could be notified whenever a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your rss feed which ought to do the trick! Have a nice day!

Leave a Reply

